Entries open for the Queensland Premier’s Drama Award 2020-2021

Winner of the Queensland Premier’s Drama Award 2018-19 David Megarrity (centre) with Queensland Theatre’s Artistic Director Sam Strong and Minister for the Arts Hon Leanne Enoch

Entries are now open for the Queensland Premier’s Drama Award (QPDA) 2020-2021. The program assists writers and performance makers develop their first drafts or pitch documents, into a world premiere professional production, with the winner programmed into Queensland Theatre’s 2021 Season.

Now in its 17th year, this prestigious national award continues a legacy of successful partnership between the Queensland Government and Queensland Theatre.

Queensland Theatre Artistic Director Sam Strong said the award had brought an outstanding  line-up of plays and playwrights onto the mainstage.

“The QPDA sits at the centre of Queensland Theatre’s ambition to lead from Queensland in the nurturing of new stories and new talent,” he said.

Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk said the Queensland Premier’s Drama Award highlighted the Queensland Government’s commitment to supporting the arts industry.

“Queensland Theatre has done exceptional work since the award’s inception in 2001, nurturing and developing talented artists and providing them with a unique opportunity to showcase their winning work with a world premiere,” the Premier said.

The award covers a two-year cycle. In the first year, 2020, three finalists will have their works undergo creative development with industry professionals prior to judging and the announcement of the winner. The second year, 2021, involves further development of the winning play followed by the world premiere as part of Queensland Theatre’s 2021 Season.

The judges for this cycle include artists who specialise in the development of new work: Sam Strong (Queensland Theatre), Louise Gough (Belvoir), Jennifer Medway (Melbourne Theatre Company), Nadine McDonald-Dowd (Queensland Performing Arts Centre) and a representative from the Queensland Government.

The deadline for submissions is Sunday 15 September 2019, with finalists selected in October 2019. The winning entry will be announced in March 2020. Groups, as well as individual artists are encouraged to apply.

HOW TO APPLY: The conditions of entry and more information can be obtained by visiting Queensland Theatre’s website.

Previous winners of the Queensland Premier’s Drama Award include:

2018-19 David Megarrity for THE HOLIDAYS

2016-17 Michele Lee for RICE


2012-13 Maxine Mellor for TROLLOP

2010-11 Marcel Dorney for FRACTIONS

2008-09 Richard Jordan for 25 DOWN

2006-07 David Brown for THE ESTIMATOR

2004-05 Adam Grossetti for MANO NERA

2002-03 Sven Swenson for ROAD TO THE SHE-DEVIL’S SALON

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: